11
Oct
08

TWLOHA

My new neighbors have three daughters. I love them all, they are amazing girls. The other day the oldest, a 15 year old who we will call B, was wearing a TWLOHA shirt. It was at that moment that I realized that we might have at least one more thing in common. Today, while on my porch, I saw the scars on her arms. I couldn’t help but reach out and touch them. I remember, since it has not been very long since I last cut myself, how it feels to push a blade into my flesh. It hurt me to remember. She’s only 15. I didn’t begin cutting myself until I was 16. It has been 14 years of self mutilation. I have been cutting myself for almost as long as she has been alive. I am now really beginning to learn more about TWLOHA (To Write Love On Her Arms) http://www.twloha.com/ It is an amazing organization that’s entire goal is to support those who are battling depression, drug abuse, self mutilation and suicide through awareness and music. I have a lot of thinking to do right now. I want to talk to B; to let her know that I know, at least somewhat, how she is feeling. But I am afraid that I am not well enough to have that conversation with her. What if I fuck up and make her sad or upset enough to want to cut herself again. I am very confused at the moment.

 

New Movement.

New Movement.

3 Responses to “TWLOHA”


  1. 1 Kat
    October 20, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    I’m 16 and I began to cut myself when I was 13. I had stopped when I heard a band called Paramore. I saw the lead vocalist wearing a t-shirt that said To Write Love On Her Arms. I had wondered what it was and I did my reasearch. I realized that I had so much to live for and I ended up stopping. Just recently I started up again. It hurt so much because my little sister saw what I had been doing and she told me how much she loved me. Thats when I decided to share a little bit of why I had started. I might post a blog about it here but since you are really into this go to this site and you can do more to help out
    http://www.socialvibe.com/towriteloveonherarms?r=226474&rs=spread_4

    and dont be affraid to talk to your neighbors daughter she might need someone who knows what they have gone through. Sure TWLOHA is a step to becoming healthy but its more of being able to talk about it to get such a thing off your mind and live life as if nothing has happened before or as close to it

  2. 2 aimeemarie
    October 21, 2008 at 1:41 am

    Thank you so much. If you don’t mind my asking, how did you find me?

  3. 3 Kat
    October 21, 2008 at 9:33 am

    it was random i guess
    (::


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 16,843 hits

© Copyright Notice

Vomitus of the Brainus © Aimée Easton 2006 - 2011 All Rights Reserved Material contained on this site are under copyright, whether my own or someone else's. The material here is published strictly for personal use, and may not be copied to any other place without prior permission. I have borrowed or linked resources from elsewhere and I have given credit to the source from where I got material. Any form of copying or distribution, may face legal penalty.

