03
Aug
10

Questions at 2:26 pm

What would you say is the most profound advice you’ve ever been given (and did you heed it)

I was told that dropping out of high school would ruin my life. I never, not for one moment, believe that something a silly as dropping out when it was SO easy to go and get your GED, would affect the rest of my life. Boy was I wrong!

Who, for you, is an idol? Why are they your idol?

I try not to have idols. I have people that I look up to, but I don’t believe someone should idolize someone else. I used to put people on pedestals, but in time I found that when I did that, when they became regular people for me it was in the most devastating ways. The further up you have them, the farther don they fall when they do. And it always hurts you more in the long run.

When, during the day, are you in your best mood, and why?

It depends on the time of year. In the Spring, it’s early in the morning. In the Autumn it’s mid to late afternoon and early evening. In the Summer and Winter it’s late at night.

When you wake, what do you normally think of first?

Going pee!

If you could choose doing the washing up or drying up, which one would it be? ( I have a dishwasher is not acceptable)

Washing, but I hate dishes in general.

How often do you pretend you can’t hear your phone ringing because you don’t want to answer it?

A little too often. Especially when I am depressed.

What are your favourite recipes that never go wrong?

Shepherd’s Pie
Turkey Noodle Soup
Stuffed Shells
Chicken and Rice

What did you do on your 11th birthday?

I have no clue, that was almost 21 years ago.

______ is sexy But._____ is sexier.

Johnny Depp is sexy but Katherine Moennig is sexier.

Where would you like to live if you had to leave Michigan and why?

Someplace on the east coast. Maine, Massachusetts, Maryland. New Englandish I think.

What would be your dream job?

A concert photographer, photographer in general, own a coffee shop, own a used book store, doing something I love from home, something artsy for sure.

Do you keep in contact with anyone from your school days? Tell us something about your oldest and closest friends.

I have a few friends left from my school days. Cris, Jess, Rick, Cori. I don’t talk to any of them nearly enough. I have gotten back in contack with a friend I have not heard from or talked to in 20 years, Nicki. We have been talking a lot lately and she’s moving back to MI in 3 days! I can’t wait to see her again.

Do you feel that you have depths (of feelings, ideas, attitudes) that have not yet been shared by another person?

I used to feel that way until recently. I have met someone who is becoming one of my best friends. We share similar beliefs and ideals in some of the things I thought I was completely alone in. Finding that in another person is the most wonderful feeling ever.

What is the biggest mistake you have ever made, in the sense that it affected your life adversely?

Dropping out of high school. Definitely. That one act defined who I was in so many ways. In finding a job, in how people looked at me, in the advice I could give to young people, in going back to school, in my belief in myself, in what others thought about me.

Name 5 things that give you pleasure?

Ted
Being able to write
Time alone (but not being lonely)
A great movie
Talking to a good friend

Do you prefer living in Michigan to living in Virginia & why?

Virginia by FAR! I loved the ocean most of all. The scenery is so much better than Michigan’s. Autumn and it’s colors last a hell of a lot longer. The roads are better. Winters are milder.

Where do you want to be in 5 years from now?

I choose not to think about it. Everyone talks about the 5 year plan and how it’s not a goal until you think it out, plan it and put it into writing. I think that’s absolute bullshit. I see the reasoning behind it, really, I do. But for me, when I don’t reach that goal, or when I look back and see where I thought I’d be in 5 years and haven’t achieved it, or had gone in a different direction, I feel like an absolute failure. Where will I be in 5 years? Who knows, but I hope I’m happy.

Do you regret anything so far? What is your biggest regret?

I used to say that I had no regrets. That one should not regret anything for everything one experiences makes one the person they are. I like who I am. BUT… I have discovered that I do have a few regrets.

I regret walking away from Trinity when she was using drugs. Even though I didn’t want to watch her kill herself and I had done everything in my power to help her, she still needed a friend and I regret saving myself heartbreak and trying to teach her a lesson that in the end, I believe helped her make the decision to kill herself.
I regret dropping out of school. Despite the fact that it’s harder to get a job (even though I have my GED) and the fact that college was an issue, I am a bad example to my nieces and nephews and other kids I care about. How can I ever show them what can come out of a good education?
I regret throwing away old letters and mementos from my past. The older I get, the harder it is to remember the fun times I had when I was young. Too much of my teen years was filled with pain, anger and angst and the times that were good were really, really good and I have a hard time remembering those moments now. Some of my old love letters from people were so touching and sweet, I can’t believe that even though I don’t feel anything at all for these people, I would throw away such sweet testaments of love.

The place you want live if money was not an issue.

If money wasn’t an issue, I would have a home in Maine; Oscoda, Michigan; Salem, Massachusetts; Paris, France; County Cork, Ireland; Casablanca, Morocco; Stuttgart, Germany; London, England; and somewhere in the Caribbean.

What thoughts predominate your mind right now?

How cold I am. Both air conditioners are on full blast and the cold is killing my joints.

21. Do you think there is a difference between you being around other people or other people being around you?

There is a huge difference. If I’m around other people, it’s because I want to be. If other people are around me, I don’t necessarily want them to be there – and they are very often not the people I want to have around me in the first place.

Have you ever had a simple decision in front of you and known it could change everything?

Yes.

Do you think that the questions asked reveal more about the asker than the askee wanted?

Yes. The depth of a question, the type of question, the amount of questions, all speak volumes about the person asking them.

What do you value most in life?

Love.

0 Responses to “Questions at 2:26 pm”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 16,843 hits

© Copyright Notice

Vomitus of the Brainus © Aimée Easton 2006 - 2011 All Rights Reserved Material contained on this site are under copyright, whether my own or someone else's. The material here is published strictly for personal use, and may not be copied to any other place without prior permission. I have borrowed or linked resources from elsewhere and I have given credit to the source from where I got material. Any form of copying or distribution, may face legal penalty.

